The BRITISH ALL WINNERS FESTIVAL is a week long competition of the very best of British amateur drama usually including twelve One Act plays, three Full length plays and three youth entries representing the winning productions from NDFA member festivals held over the year up and down the country.

Each year the All Winners is hosted by a member Festival and in recent years these have been held in the Isle of Man, Teignmouth, Guernsey, Woking, Thurrock, Halifax and Blackburn. During Festival week there are workshops on directing, producing and marketing hosted in the past by amongst others the Royal Shakespeare Company and NODA. It is the aim of NDFA to offer linked activities to drama during the day but also to promote the cultural and artistic sightseeing opportunities in the community in the area hosting the All  Winners.

After each evening’s performances there is the adjudication by a member of the Guild of Drama Adjudicators (GoDA) after which all are welcome in the Festival Green Room.

At the end of the week the adjudicator makes a series of awards, plus the audience are given the opportunity to vote for their winning play.  The awards are:

Full Length Plays
Overall Winner The Mary Blakeman Trophy
Runner Up The Amateur Stage Trophy
Backstage Award The Sydney Fisher Trophy
Halifax Evening Courier Award Audience Appreciation
Adjudicator’s Discretionary Award
One Act Plays
Overall Winner The Irving Trophy
Runner Up The NDFA Council Trophy
Backstage Award The Sydney Fisher Trophy
Adjudicator’s Award The Amateur Theatre Trophy
Isle of Man Newspapers Award Audience Appreciation
Youth Entry
Winner of the Youth Section The NDFA Trophy
Promising Youth Participation The Buxton Trophy
Encouragment of Youth Theatre Nan Nuttall Award
GADOC Award Audience Appreciation

Two other awards are also made. The first is the winning playwright for the GEORGE TAYLOR AWARD that is open to any unpublished one-act piece of original theatre accepted and performed at any NDFA Festival between 1st July and 30th June the following year and which has been performed fewer that five times.

The winning play (and not the production) is performed as a rehearsed reading during the Festival week and the winner receives their prize of £250 and a trophy during the Awards ceremony on the Final night.  The George Taylor Award is generously sponsored by StagescriptsThe winning play will also be published. (if the author wishes)

The other award was first presented in 2014 and is to encourage the use of theatre within Special Needs groups.  Since 2007 the NDFA has showcased the work of a local Special Needs groups from within the All Winners host community. In this time the NDFA and the groups have worked with companies such as Chicken Shed and Side by Side Theatre Group to bring Special Needs participants to the world of amateur theatre. In 2012 this work involved producing a film with The Pendle Community High School, Lancashire, of the story of “The Highwayman” which was shown to audiences during the Festival. Everyone involved (actors and audiences) in all of these productions have found huge enjoyment from them.

To support and recognise this the NDFA introduced in 2014 the STAR BRIGHT Award to be given to an actor or ensemble.

In 2015 a new award “THE JOHN SCOWEN COMEDY AWARD” will be presented for the best comedic moment to have taken place on stage during the festival.