Download the Entry Form


This prestigious award was initiated in 1979 in memory of George Taylor the founder of AMATEUR STAGE and is awarded annually to the author of a new one-act play which was performed at an NDFA member festival in a twelve month period between 1st July and 30th June. The play may not have been performed more than five times before nomination and it must be unpublished at time of entry and remain unpublished until the announcement of the Award.

Over the recent years THE GEORGE TAYLOR MEMORIAL AWARD has been the springboard for new play writers to go and to have their work published and in some cases has led to professional commissions and performances. A synopsis of the winning and highly commended plays from the past ten years is attached in PDF format. If you are interested in producing one of these plays full contact for the author and/or publisher is available from the NDFA.

To submit an original play for THE GEORGE TAYLOR MEMORIAL AWARD, the entry form must be signed by the playwright and entering Festival’s adjudicator and submitted as directed on the entry form together with a fee of £10.00.

The winning play (and not the production) is performed as a rehearsed reading during the All Winners Festival week and the winner receives their trophy during the Awards ceremony on the Final night.

In the coming months we plan to publish excerpts from the previous winning plays and those which were highly commended by our judges. In turn we also give links to the writer and/or publisher should you want to read or perform the play.